top of page

Grade 9 Take Our Kids to Work Day


Students pose at St. Anne French Immersion during the annual Take Our Kids to Work Day. Photo courtesy of Adrian Y.

On Wednesday, November 6th, students across Canada discovered what it was like to be in the workplace for the annual “Grade 9 Take Our Kids to Work Day”. Students spent the day with a parent, relative, or community host to gain a behind the scenes look at various professions.

In Windsor, many participants returned to their former grade schools which included L. A. Demarais, H. J. Lassaline, W. J. Langlois, St. John Vianney, and St. Anne French Immersion. St. Anne French Immersion allowed the recent graduates to buddy up with a teacher and assist them throughout the day. They helped teach subjects like math, literacy, and of course–French!

I was one of the students that went to St. Anne’s. I am interested in pursuing a career in education and this experience helped me to see that I need to work on being patient when I deal with young children.

High school students were paired up with groups of grade four students throughout the day. Photo courtesy of Adrian Y.

I arrived to St. Anne’s at 8:40 am to meet with my host teacher and discuss the lesson plan. As the day progressed, I helped the fourth-grade teacher with various subjects and activities. For example, I assisted students as they multiplied a two-digit number by a two-digit number as well as during math word problems.

After recess, the teacher split the class into reading groups to work on French and I was put in charge of one of the groups. For the rest of the day, I helped the younger students as they learned about the Seven Sacraments and other subjects.

Overall, this opportunity was one that I enjoyed and gave me a glimpse into a possible career as a grade school teacher. Future grade nines: make sure you participate!

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page