top of page

Featured Laser Artist: Jasper Finch

For many, art is done as a way to express who you are or the way you feel. There's usually a meaning behind each piece. One of our very own Lasers, Jasper Finch, shows us that one of his pieces means that "the body is beautiful like a landscape.”

Name: Contour Lines

Artist: Jasper Finch

Photo: Kade V

When you first look at the photo, you may just see lines that form a human body. But Jasper expressed that it "reminded me of rings of a tree.”

He then explained how the rings could also be interpreted as contour lines on a topographical map. That the contour lines on a map represented the hills and valleys of the land, so on his piece the lines represent the hills and valleys of the body. Understanding the message behind his art wasn't difficult, but why does he create art? And what does it mean to him?

People use art as a means of expression. Jasper uses it for just that; nonetheless, even without anything to express, he was still creating art. He found it fascinating that he could create whatever he imagined in his head and pursue it to make it real.

Jasper has had an interest in art since childhood. In a statement for Laser News he says: "Even when I was a child, I thought stick figures were boring and I tried to figure out how to make my people look more like people."

That sentence resonated because it shows proof of his drive and dedication. He wants to carry forward his talent into something further; perhaps advertising or teaching. Talent like this doesn't come around everyday. Keep an eye out for more of Jasper's art on Laser News!

Related Posts

See All

Bullying Awareness Week: "I Am..."

I am the bully. I wonder why they turn away from me. I hear screaming and cries for help and of pain. I see fear embedded in the eyes of the bullied. I want to know why they dare not cross paths with

bottom of page