top of page

Award-winning "The Intangible": Director's Reflection


Photo by Charlize A.

The 2017-2018 Ontario Drama Festival was truly a rollercoaster of experiences. I have been writing all my life, and I took particularly great passion in “The Intangible” as it was the result of months of effort, hard work, tears and determination.

The production process was the real challenge though. As a drama student, I understood the fundamentals of stage composition and acting, but found it difficult to transmit that understanding onto the actors. There needed to be a stronger connection between the actors and myself, and as the weeks went on, I found myself laughing and having a lot more fun during rehearsal. We grew as a cast and soon became a family. This bond made it very easy for the actors to know where they needed to be on the stage, what their character was feeling at the time, and why a certain action was needed.

The day of performance was nerve-racking for everyone, including myself. However, we left with 4 wins on our shoulders--2 Awards of Excellence and 2 Awards of Merit for acting and directing. It was truly an honour being part of such an amazing community.

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page