top of page

Student Spotlight: Jada Mallot


“Just because I’m too young to vote, doesn’t mean I don’t feel the effects made by bad politicians.” – Jada Malott.

Jada Malott is a freshman at St. Joseph’s Catholic High School. She grew up in a very political family where they would discuss trade deals, politics, issues affecting them, and leaders at their dinner table; and in fourth grade, Jada’s school was closing.

Infuriated by this, her and her classmates had a school walkout where they amplified their opinions. This was where Jada gave her first speech which peeked her interest in public speaking. Weeks later, her father had gotten her a role in which she could speak at a rally. “Parents need good jobs, parents need good benefit, and parents need good pension,” is what her little eight-year-old self yelled to the crowd. Since then, Jada has come a long way from her first speech and has achieved many things since. 

In 2016, Jada wrote a letter to Justin Trudeau and requested to meet him in person to talk about how NAFTA (a trade agreement between Mexico, America, and Canada that diminishes tariffs at borders) was going to affect her community. When he responded, he ignored her request. But, instead of giving up, she continued to write letters to Trudeau, delivering them to the House of Parliament herself.

Eventually, she got to meet Justin Trudeau.

They had a meeting in which Justin promised to talk to the youth in Windsor about how NAFTA would positively affect their future. Alongside this, she collected 33000 bottles of water for Flint, Michigan during the water crisis. She and a friend organized an event in which her school donated water bottles to Flint. They had donated 1200 bottles of water to the Flint water crisis.

One of her favourite memories is a speech she did last year in Ingersoll with workers from the GM Plant that was on strike. She recalls that the crowd was full of energy and that she got to get out everything she wanted to say. “One of my favourite things to do is speak and to see so many people around me listening to what I have to say and relating to me was amazing. And that energy is something that I live for.”

Her goal is to become a fluent French speaker, so that she can apply for a program in the University of Ottawa – which she plans to attend after graduation where she can work in the House of Commons. She wishes to learn about law, politics, economics and the history of Canada.

Her father is her greatest inspiration. He told her that she should speak up for herself and it’s put her in a good place. “…people say: ’Oh you’re never nervous, Jada’s never nervous.’ and I do get nervous. But it’s my dad who helps me and because of that, I think he’s my greatest inspiration.” 

And last, but not least, Jada’s advice to anyone with interests in politics: “If I could give advice to anyone who wants to get involved, it is to not expect people to pay attention the first time. I know what it’s like to be ignored and have my opinions put past people especially because of my age."

She continues with: "I am your future, I am what is going to make this world what it’s gonna be. Do you, do what makes you happy and say what you want to say. Your opinion matters. And if anyone wants to get anything across I’d gladly partner with someone to make some change, because that’s what I love to do.”

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page