top of page

Clean Finish for Lasers Wrestling


Wrestling team members pose for a picture at SWOSSAA. Photo curtesy of Kyle S.

On February 20, 2020, St. Joseph’s wrestling team closed their successful season during SWOSSAA at L’Essor High School.

At SWOSSA, the Laser wrestlers pushed their limits and were very close to placing in their respective top two spots, which would have enabled them to qualify for OFSAA.

In an interview with Laser News, Miranda I., a grade 11 student and third-year wrestler, described the details of SWOSSA and how this past season went.

What was SWOSSA like?

“Everyone did really well in SWOSSAA. Even though not everyone placed, I think everyone was prepared and definitely gave their best. A big portion of the team came so close to second and third place, including myself. A lot of our first-year wrestlers did well considering they haven't had as much experience as some of their opponents. I think that really shows how good our team has become this year.”

What was it like during the season?

“Our team accomplished so much this year and I'm really proud of all the first-year wrestlers. In every tournament we’ve gone to, almost half of the team has gone home with some medals. Our school might not have the biggest wrestling team but we can really show up to play.”

What will you miss from this season?

“I think I’m going to miss the tournaments we’ve gone to that were outside of Windsor-Essex. I am also going to miss some of our amazing coaches, but I know I will see them next year. Fortunately, we don’t have any wrestlers leaving us this year since the team is mainly composed of grade 9’s, 10’s, and 11’s.”

Who was close to qualifying for OFSAA?

“Angelina A., Raidyn L. and myself. Raidyn and I both wrestled with injuries but we still managed to make it that far in the tournament.”

The majority of the wrestling team was comprised of new-comers, but despite this, the season was filled with winning medals, tournaments, and many matches. The St. Joe’s wrestling team may not have made it to OFSAA this year, but if this past season is any indication, the Laser wrestling team will be back next year with even more dedication and energy.

If you are looking for a challenging sport that will enable you to push your limits while making friends, join the wrestling team next year!

bottom of page