top of page

Drama Club Takes Home Two Awards


Hannah D. and Isabella G. pose with their awards from the Ontario Drama Festival. Photo by: Mrs. D'Alimonte.

Last Monday, March 9th, the St. Joseph’s Drama Club participated in the Ontario Drama Festival with two plays-- Not Merely An Emotion written and directed by Isabella G., and I Dream Before I Take the Stand, directed by Portia P. Although neither play moved on to the regional competition, Hannah D. won an Award of Merit for acting as the character “She” in I Dream Before I Take the Stand and Isabella G. received an Award of Excellence for writing Not Merely An Emotion.

Both productions this year took a unique approach to the competition, as they deal with serious issues relevant to the world today. Not Merely an Emotion follows the struggles of a teenage girl, Gabriella (played by Hallelujah A.), who lives with her Anxiety (played by Connor S.) manifesting itself as a real person in her mind. The play shows the mindset of a person with anxiety in an attempt to portray the reality of it all, while getting rid of the stigma surrounding this disorder. After being part of the Drama Festival since grade 9, Isabella G. decided that this message needed to be put out into the world. Regarding the play, she said, “I wrote about anxiety, which is something I’ve had to struggle with and I knew people would be able to relate to it on a personal level.”

I Dream Before I Take the Stand follows the story of She, (played by Hannah D.), a woman who was assaulted and relives the event in her dreams in addition to what she thinks will happen if she tries to seek justice. The character He (played by Matthew H.) is a lawyer who attempts to change the way She sees her story. Although the story follows a more mature issue, it is important for today’s society. “The reason I chose the play was because it stuck with me really deeply the first time I read it. I wanted to try something new. I chose [the play] because of its mature subject and I knew that it was a relevant issue that continues to be very pertinent today. The play struck home for me and I know it does for many women, as any woman has had an encounter where they had been harassed, albeit not as far as She was,” said Portia.

The Drama Festival was a success for both plays and allowed both casts to grow closer together, creating new friendships between St. Joseph’s students. Regarding the experience, Portia stated, “The Drama Festival is super fun and it provides a means to connect with people you normally would never talk to, and make new friends. Especially with a small cast like mine, I became a Mama to the people in my cast, and it was a great family atmosphere. On the actual day it is very stressful, but a really good learning experience and I’m so happy I could take part in it.”

Everyone in the two productions was able to connect with their topics, which gave the plays a raw and genuine portrayal.

“I had the most amazing cast and I’m thankful for each and every one of them. They worked so hard to portray the message I wanted to present to people. The play wouldn’t be anything without them. I’m so thankful for everything that’s happened with the performance and so glad everything turned out well,” explained Isabella.

St. Joseph’s has a long history of being part of the Ontario Drama Festival. The Lasers have seen great successes and the plays have brought people together as well as showcasing the creativity of students. None of this would have been possible without Mrs. D’Alimonte and Mrs. Donais, who provided their support throughout the journey of the productions and helped them reach their fullest potential.

Are you interested in writing plays, directing, or acting? Join next year’s Drama Club to learn more and step outside of your comfort zone!

bottom of page